Manny Pacquiao is a threat and what he is doing is something extraordinary.
I agree that Floyd Mayweather is crafty and very good defensively, but he lacks the confidence to face dangerous opponents in their prime. Ever since he was given fame by defeating Oscar De La Hoya, Floyd took the sport hostage, he fights every 16 months and waits for the right opponents to fight, he will only choose an opponent that he knows he can beat or make sure he has advantages in his favor.
In his last fight with Victor Ortiz, many people were saying that Floyd was easily beating up on Ortiz and he would have eventually stopped him if their was no legal sucker punch KO or headbutt controversy. I saw it differently. I saw a Floyd Mayweather who was actually showing some nervousness every time he went to his corner. Floyd was in with an opponent that he handpicked but didn’t realize he would give him such a difficult time in the ring. Even though Floyd was landing the right hand, Victor was making Floyd miss a lot, and right before the headbutt in the 4th round, Victor landed a good combination on Floyd before resorting to an illegal headbutt.
The reason why Victor threw those headbutts was because his trainer Danny Garcia had told him if Floyd fights you dirty you have to fight him dirty back, they were worried about Floyd’s elbows, and if you watch the fight closely Floyd was throwing the elbows or using them a lot, and Victor would use his head in retaliation. If I were a trainer, I wouldn’t give that type of advice to my fighter because two wrongs don’t make a right and we saw what happened when Victor Ortiz played dirty, he got hit back when he wasn’t looking and knocked out.
You can sense fear in Floyd Mayweather anytime Pacman is being mentioned around him. If Pacquiao was so easy to beat why wouldn’t Floyd fight him already for the biggest payday in boxing history? Bob Arum already said that the Pacman has agreed to the Olympic style blood testing demands, so what’s the hold up? The reason is simple, he still sees Manny Pacquiao as a threat and is waiting to see if Manny slows down a bit before fighting him.
No comments:
Post a Comment